Skip to content

AI jigsaw puzzle generators, compared: in the browser or in an app

By the Puzzitive team · Updated September 2026

Describe a picture, get a jigsaw puzzle of it. Three services do that well enough to turn up again and again when you search for it - two run in the browser, one is an app. We read what each one publishes about itself and lined up what decides it: what is free, whether you need an account, how big a puzzle you can make, how you pay, and whether it works without a connection.

Disclosure: Puzzitive is our own app, so this comparison is not ranked. Everything said about the other two is taken from their own websites, checked September 2026, and we name where each of them beats us. AI Jigsaw Puzzle and JigsawCat are trademarks of their owners; we are not affiliated with either.

The short version

  • One quick puzzle, nothing to install, no account: AI Jigsaw Puzzle (aijigsawpuzzle.com) - its site offers 3 free generations a day without registering.
  • Credits you pay for once and keep: JigsawCat - its site says paid credits "never expire", with no subscription.
  • Big puzzles, your own photos, art styles, offline: Puzzitive (ours) - up to 1,000 pieces, 40+ styles, and a phone or tablet in your hands instead of a mouse.

Side by side

Runs in

AI Jigsaw Puzzle
A web browser
JigsawCat
A web browser
Puzzitive
An app for iPhone, iPad and Android phones and tablets

Account to start

AI Jigsaw Puzzle
Their site: 3 generations a day without registering, 8 bonus generations after registering
JigsawCat
Their site: account creation is "optional", to save progress; free credits go to "new users"
Puzzitive
None. Play from the first launch; link Google or Facebook - or Apple on iPhone and iPad - later to keep your progress if you reinstall or change devices

Piece count

AI Jigsaw Puzzle
Their site: 12 to 180 pieces
JigsawCat
Not stated on their site
Puzzitive
Any number from 2 to 1,000

How you pay

AI Jigsaw Puzzle
Monthly credit plans
JigsawCat
One-time credit packs; their site says paid credits "never expire"
Puzzitive
Free to play; AI credits bought as you use them

Your own photo

AI Jigsaw Puzzle
Their site: upload a photo
JigsawCat
Not stated on their site
Puzzitive
Play it exactly as it is, free and unlimited, or use it as the reference for a new AI image

Art styles

AI Jigsaw Puzzle
Not stated on their site; you choose an aspect ratio
JigsawCat
A choice of AI image models, which their site names
Puzzitive
40+ styles, applied and re-applied to any image

Ads

AI Jigsaw Puzzle
Not stated on their site
JigsawCat
Their site: an option to disable ads on paid plans
Puzzitive
One short ad before a puzzle opens on the free plan, none while you solve; any subscription removes it

Offline

AI Jigsaw Puzzle
Not stated on their site
JigsawCat
Not stated on their site
Puzzitive
With the subscription: download puzzles and play them with no connection. Generating an image always needs one

The first two columns are taken from each service's own website, checked September 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it on their site, not that the service lacks it. If something here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

Browser or app: when each one wins

A browser tool wins when you want one small puzzle right now: nothing to install, and at a few dozen pieces a mouse is perfectly fine. An app wins as the puzzle gets bigger. Past a few hundred pieces you spend most of the time zoomed in and dragging, and a finger on a tablet is simply easier than a cursor. An app also keeps your place when you put the puzzle down and pick it up tomorrow, and it can work on a plane. Puzzitive does not ask for an account either: you play from the first launch, progress saves as you go, and you link Google or Facebook - or Apple on iPhone and iPad - only when you want it kept through a reinstall or a new device.

How they charge

Three models, and each suits someone. AI Jigsaw Puzzle sells monthly plans - a set number of credits every month, a good fit if you generate often. JigsawCat sells credits once: pay, and they stay until you use them. Puzzitive is free to play, with one short ad before a puzzle opens on the free plan, and you buy AI credits only when you generate. Playing your own photos and the curated catalogue costs nothing.

AI Jigsaw Puzzle

The quickest from a standing start: open the site, describe a picture, play - with 3 free generations a day and no account, by its own description. It takes your own photo too. Where it beats us: there is nothing to install. Its site caps a puzzle at 180 pieces, so it is built for a quick game rather than an evening.

JigsawCat

The one for people who dislike subscriptions: one-time credit packs, paid credits that do not expire, a choice of AI image models, and leaderboards if you want to play against other people. Where it beats us: the choice of model, and a competitive side we do not have. Its site does not state a piece-count range.

Puzzitive

Ours, and built for the big puzzle and the picture that is exactly yours. Describe it and it exists in about 20-30 seconds, at 2K or 4K as you choose, on any plan. Or start from a photo of your own, restyle it with 40+ art styles, and play at any piece count up to 1,000. Where the other two beat us: you have to install an app, and on the free plan one short ad plays before each puzzle opens.

Writing a prompt that makes a good puzzle

Whichever you pick, the prompt decides how the puzzle plays. Ask for detail across the whole frame - a setting, a time of day, some texture - rather than one subject on a plain background, which leaves most of the pieces looking the same.

How to create AI-generated jigsaw puzzles →

Sources

  • AI Jigsaw Puzzle - home page (aijigsawpuzzle.com)
  • AI Jigsaw Puzzle - pricing (aijigsawpuzzle.com/pricing)
  • JigsawCat - home page (jigsawcat.ai)
  • JigsawCat - pricing (jigsawcat.ai/pricing)
Coming soon

Your next puzzle is one prompt away.

Free to install. 1,500+ ready-to-play images. Generate anything with AI in 2K or 4K using credits - never a forced subscription.

Photo to puzzleAI stylesNo sign-upNo forced subscriptionNo banner adsPlays offlineMobile & TabletUp to 4K2–1,000 piecesDark & light modesData protection